21 Leaders for the 21st Century: 14 Honorees Announced

Women’s eNews Annual Fundraiser to Honor 21 Leaders for their Courage

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: On Tuesday, November 14, 2023, Women’s eNews will honor ’21 Leaders for the 21st Century’ at its 23rd Annual Awards Gala in New York City. The 2023 honorees were selected due to their unbridled Courage by standing up to long-standing patriarchal barriers to securing equal rights for all.

“Women’s eNews is honored to salute these courageous individuals and organizations that have shown true courage during these very challenging times,” says Lori Sokol, PhD, Executive Director and Editor-in-Chief of Women’s eNews. “As we prepare to go to the voting booths next year at this time, it is important to bring these crucial issues to light in order to elect candidates who support the marginalized, regardless of gender, sexual orientation, race or abilities.

The 2023 Honorees Include*:

Rebecca Cokley, US Disability Rights Program Officer at the Ford Foundation and recipient of the Loreen Arbus Champion for Disabilities Award

Andrea Constand, Winning plaintiff in the case against Bill Cosby

Eleni Delimpaltadaki Janis, CEO/CIO, Equivico by NCRC

Maeve DuVally, Author: Coming Out Trans in Corporate America

Anna Fishbeyn, Award-winning filmmaker and President of XOFeminist Productions

Ellen Galinsky, President of the Families and Work Institute

Ruchira Gupta, Emmy winning journalist and founder of the anti sex trafficking NGO Apne Aap, which empowers women and girls to exit systems of prostitution

Carolyn Maloney, Former Congressperson and current Chair of the ERA Coalition, and recipient of the Edie Windsor Champion for LGBTQIA+ Equality Award.

Ms. Magazine, Pioneering feminist magazine celebrating its 50th Anniversary

Peer Defense Project, Provides free legal education so that youth who face injustice can transform law

Tiara Parker, Anti-gun violence activist and survivor of the Pulse nightclub massacre

Jean Shafiroff,  Advocate for marginalized communities, Author of: Successful Philanthropy’ 

Shattering Glass, A national organization that works to create a world where gender equality is the norm

ZAN Times , Global news organization reporting on the status of women and girls in Afghanistan.

*Additional honorees to be announced in the coming weeks.

Loreen Arbus, President of the Loreen Arbus Foundation and Loreen Arbus Productions and pioneering activist for people with disabilities, is serving as Honorary Gala Chair for the eighth consecutive year. Deborah Santana, peace and social justice activist for women and people of color, is serving as Honorary Gala Co-Chair for the fourth consecutive year. Previous honorees have included White House Press Secretary Karine Jean-Pierre, Black Lives Matter co-founder Patrisse Cullours, former President of Ireland Mary Robinson, NYS Governor Kathy Hochul, Author/Activist Eve Ensler and numerous other women of distinction.

The Gala Dinner will take place at Club 101’s luxurious ballroom (101 Park Avenue), beginning at 6pm. 

About Women’s eNews:

Women’s eNews is an award-winning nonprofit (501c3) news service covering issues of particular concern to women and providing women’s perspectives on public policy. With writers and readers around the globe, Women’s eNews’ audience stretches from New York City to New Delhi and all points between, totaling 50,000 annual subscribers and reaching an estimated 3.5 million readers each year.

Women’s eNews editors seek out freelance writers from around the world to write on every topic–politics, religion, economics, health, science, sustainability, education, sports, legislation–and commission them to write 800-word news articles for distribution to our subscribers and for posting on our Web site. We rely on the best practices of journalism and have gained enormous credibility by doing excellent journalism each day.

For questions, please contact Women’s eNews at 973-769-7012 or via email womensenewsinfo@gmail.com


Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button